Relevancy and Security

Can we lose our Salvation? Most of the people who read my blog will undoubtedly be adherents, in some manner, to “Perseverance of the Saints.” Some may not call it that exactly, but the content and idea behind the terminology is pretty much the same.

This topic has come up several times in different conversations recently. And, since I’ve recently been told I have the gift of prophecy, I feel as though God is trying to get my attention to post this on my blog read by millions.

In all seriousness, the amount of people who reject the idea of Perseverance of the Saints (PS) is slightly frightening. Furthermore, the attitude of some in discussion about it has been: “I’m more worried about winning lost souls than fretting over some irrelevant theological issue!”

Is our eternal security, our ability to keep the faith, an abstract and irrelevant theological issue? And is it irrelevant to winning souls for Christ?

Here is where I’d drop numerous biblical references for PS, but I think, since that tends to not persuade in discussions as well as emotions, I’ll appeal to those first.

Let’s think about this really quick: Jesus died an excruciating death, after being tortured, and suffered the entirety of God’s wrath. He lived a selfless life, claiming none of the riches that He deserved as God’s obedient son. He rose again from the dead, and remained with the church by giving them the Holy Spirit. And He has ascended and remains at the right hand of the Father, ever interceding for us.

Why on earth—or in all of creation—would Jesus allow us to walk away from that? He accomplished the work of salvation, freely gave it to us by His grace, and at the end of the day I can still walk away from it? How irresponsible of Jesus! How little salvation truly is, if true!

Why would Jesus stick His flag into the ground of someone’s soul, justify him, and then allow that man to uproot Jesus’ flag and toss it in His face? Why would Christ proclaim ownership of someone, why would He adopt someone, and then allow him to run off?

He wouldn’t. Jesus has conquered our very souls. He refuses to give them back to Satan. You won’t run away because of someone nagging at you for your beliefs, because of some horrible circumstance, because of a lack of food or clothing, or because a fear of torture or death. This is the case for two reasons: 1. You won’t want to, and, more importantly, 2. Jesus won’t let you.

I tricked you, one of the millions of readers, when I said I was going to forego the Biblical argument for an appeal to emotion. Go read Romans 8:31-39, you’ll find a strikingly similar argument there. Paul knows some will disbelieve the free grace of the Gospel. He knows that some will attack the gift of Christ, and that humans will falter and fail.

At the end of the day, a salvation I can walk away from is not a salvation I have security in. A salvation I can walk away from is not a salvation that understands the human condition, it is not a salvation that acknowledges humans fail but God doesn’t, and it is not a salvation that truly saves from the one whom condemns me most: myself. Praise God my salvation is not in my own hands. Praise God for His faithfulness to me, because He knows I haven’t been faithful to Him.

If we’ve come to a point where our American notions of “freedom” and “individual choice” mean more to us than the Bible, than a salvation that saves, than the true grace of the Gospel of Jesus, then we’re not really attempting to win souls for Jesus. If you tell someone that you’d rather be winning souls for Jesus, yet accept that you can lose your salvation, you’re not pointing them to Jesus. You’re pointing them to themselves, and that’s a problem.

